Stay informed on COVID-19 updates from EASARead more

Calling developers: Win an EASA award for the best aviation safety app!

The European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) is running a contest to identify the best aviation safety app for non-commercial flying operations, known as General Aviation. The EASA General Aviation Safety Award was launched in April 2019 as part of the Agency’s programme to foster innovation and digitalisation. 

Prizes will be awarded to the smartphone and/or tablet applications for use by General Aviation (GA) pilots that best address one or more of the four major safety concerns identified in EASA’s European Plan for Aviation Safety (EPAS) for the GA Community. 

These are: 

  • Staying in control
  • Managing the flight
  • Preventing mid-air collisions
  • Coping with weather

The final deadline for submission of entries is 31 December 2019, meaning just over half of the overall time period set for the contest now remains. An initial deadline, for clarifications related to the eligibility of an app for entry, is little over a month away on 30 September 2019.   

Apps do not have to be developed especially for this contest to be eligible. If you have already developed an app which supports safety in general, and it by default covers some or all of the safety areas in the list, you can go ahead and submit it.

Technology provides GA with lots of ways to improve safety.  Through the award, EASA hopes to increase the visibility of valuable products, tools and applications that can further improve the GA community’s safety engagement.  After the contest, EASA will provide case studies of different apps so that pilots can see how they can make their flying safer.  

What Are the Prizes on Offer?

The EASA General Aviation Safety Award has 3 prizes, these are:

  • 1st Prize:  8,000 €
  • 2nd Prize:  5,000 €
  • 3rd Prize:  2,000 €

How to Apply and Timelines? 

All the information you need to apply can be found under 'Downloads'.  If you have any questions, send an email to prizes [at]  

Contest Opening:  The GA Safety Award was launched by EASA at the General Aviation show AERO Friedrichshafen on 12 April 2019.

Deadline for Applications:  31 December 2019.

Deadline for Clarification Requests:  You can ask for clarifications up until 30 September 2019.  

Award Decision and Announcement:  The GA Safety Award will be awarded in April 2020 at AERO.