Privileges of a Part-66 licence

I am the holder of a B1.2 licence (i.e “aeroplane piston”). Can I exercise my privileges for piston-engine non-pressurised aeroplanes1 of 2000 kg MTOM and below (i.e. category B3)?

By default, a category B3 licence is included in a category B1.2 licence because the basic knowledge requirements (66.A.25(a)) and the basic experience requirement (66.A.30) for a B3 licence are covered by the similar requirements of a B1.2 licence.

Provided that the qualification requirements are fulfilled, the B1.2 licence holder can release maintenance tasks performed on piston-engine non-pressurised aeroplanes of 2000 kg MTOM and below.

In particular the B1.2 licence holder would have to meet 66.A.20(b), which means that:

  • the applicable requirements of Part-M and/or Part-145 will be complied; and
  • in the preceding two-year period he/she has 6 months of maintenance experience in accordance with the privileges granted by the aircraft maintenance licence or; met the provision for the issue of the appropriate privileges; and
  • he/she has the adequate competence to certify maintenance on the corresponding aircraft; and
  • he/she is able to read, write and communicate to an understandable level in the language(s) in which the technical documentation and procedures necessary to support the issue of the certificate of release to service are written.

AMC 66.A.20(b)  and GM 66.A.20(b)  gives further explanations on the 6-months maintenance experience in the last 2 years, including demonstration of experience on at least one aircraft type per aircraft structure (metal, composite or wood).1 

1 - “Aeroplane” does not include “helicopter”.

Was this helpful?

Vote up  38
Vote down  20

Can I have endorsed in my Part-66 licence aircraft types for which the Basic Regulation is not applicable?

The competent authority of the Member State issuing the licence may include in the Annex (Section XIV) of EASA Form 26 types for which the Basic Regulation is not applicable. The privileges endorsed for these types are based only on the national rules. The use of Section XIV of EASA Form 26 is optional.

EASA does not have any information about these types. If you want to get information about them, please contact the competent authority.


Was this helpful?

Vote up  3
Vote down  3

Is there a requirement to have 6 months’ experience every 2 years to maintain the validity of the Part-66 licence?

No, the validity of the Part-66 licence is not affected by recent experience. The requirement of 6 months’ experience within the preceding 2 years ensures that privileges are exercised by certifying staff with sufficient recent experience.

If you do not meet the experience requirement anymore, you lose your rights to exercise your privileges of certifying staff or support staff. The licence itself is valid 5 years from the last renewal. Only the certification privileges are affected by the “recency” of experience.

To regain your experience, you may:

  • either continue to accumulate maintenance experience until you gain the missing time required, or
  • meet the provisions for the issue of appropriate privileges, which means:
    • going to a type-training course again, including OJT as necessary, or
    • when the aircraft does not require an individual training (aircraft belonging in Group 2, 3 or 4), pass a type-examination, including practical assessment (see GM 66.A.20(b)2).

Neither a short period of job training session nor an aircraft type refresher training are acceptable. 
Demonstration of experience should be made on the particular or similar aircraft and the definition of a ‘similar’ aircraft is provided in the AMC to 66.A.20(b)2.


Was this helpful?

Vote up  38
Vote down  11

As a category A certifying staff at line, can my authority allow me to carry out more tasks than those specified in AMC 145.A.30(g)?

The list of typical tasks to be carried out by a category A certifying staff at line shown in the AMC include a line r. stating: “Any other task agreed by the competent authority as a simple task for a particular aircraft type. This may include defect deferment when all the following conditions are met:

  • there is no need for troubleshooting; and
  • the task is in the MEL, and
  • the maintenance action required by the MEL is agreed by the competent authority to be simple.

When these conditions are met, your authority may allow other tasks to be carried out under AMC 145.A.30g.


Was this helpful?

Vote up  31
Vote down  21