Which costs are related to an ETSO application/authorization?

The Fees & Charges of EASA are determined by Commission Regulation (EU) 319/2014);

Please consider Article 1 to 14 which are relevant to all kinds of fees & charges. The relevant sections for ETSO applications / authorizations in the Annex are:

Part I, table 1: flat fee for new applications (incl. major changes). The flat fee covers a period of 12 months. If the product cannot be certified within 12 months EASA will issue another invoice covering the additional days until the date of approval; see Annex, explanatory note (3).

The current fees (March 2014) are:

  • Product value > 20.000 €               flat fee 8.780 €
  • Product value 2.000 – 20.000 €    flat fee 5.020 €
  • Product value < 2.000 €                 flat fee 2.910 €

Part I, table 2 for derivatives. Only applicable to APUs.

Part I, table 6 for annual fee. Annual fee is only charged when the certified ETSO article is installed or used in more than 50 aircraft OR continued airworthiness activities have been carried out for the ETSO article. Approval holders are asked by EASA once a year to provide an update on their articles regarding the value of the product and the number of installations. The annual fee for articles in the same value category is reduced as specified in the lower section of table 6. Continued airworthiness activities are charged on an hourly basis. Approval holders of non-EU design pay a reduced annual fee.

Part II, point 1 for hourly fee. The current hourly rate (March 2014) is  233 €.

The tasks which are charged on an hourly basis are also listed here. For certification articles the following options could be relevant: validation support, transfer of certificates (i. e. due to transfer of ownership) and administrative re-issuance of documents (i. e. minor changes that require a revision of the certificate.)

Part IV, annual inflation rate: All fees & charges are adapted annually.


Was this helpful?

Vote up  20
Vote down  10

How do I apply for an ETSO authorization?

Applications can be of two types:

  1. An application from an EU organization for the EASA approval of a new ETSOA. This requires that the applicant has at least applied for Alternative Procedures to Design Organisation Approvals (ADOA) and a Production Organisation Approval (POA). ETSO applications for APU require a DOA.
  2. An application from a non-EU organization for the EASA validation of a non-EU part approval. The application must be made in accordance with any Working Arrangement or Bilateral Agreement. If these are missing the application will be considered as a new ETSOA and the organisational requirements mentioned in paragraph 1 will apply. 

Applications for ETSOA are made via the EASA Applicant Portal by creating a new application and selecting ETSOA - Initial Approval. Form 34 can be used in exceptional circumstances; its use should be limited only to cases when submittal of the application via the Applicant Portal is not possible. 

Compliance with the applicable ETSO – standard(s) as well as Part 21 shall be stated in a DDP (Declaration of Design and Performance). Form 35 is no longer used.

All technical documents should be submitted for the ETSO applications received at EASA after 1 June 2019 only via the Sepiac tool. For the ETSO applications submitted to EASA before 1 June 2019 the technical documentation can be still sent via mail to the relevant PCM (if the size is less than 10 MB)  or via the EASA Filebox  to  the responsible PCM with etsoa [at] easa [dot] europa [dot] eu in copy in a zip format quoting the task number of the application. You might consider attaching the Certification Programme in one of the first packages of technical documentation you send to EASA.  


Was this helpful?

Vote up  3
Vote down  0

What is an ETSO approval and where can I find the corresponding regulations?

The ETSO (European Technical Standard Order) authorization represents one way (and not the only way) to have parts and appliances approved. This is an optional step which ensures that a part or appliance complies with a minimum performance standard. In all cases, the installer must apply for an installation approval on-board the aircraft. He/she can use the ETSO authorization and he/she complements it to demonstrate that the installation complies with the applicable certification basis for the changed aircraft.
European Technical Standard Order authorizations are covered by Subpart O of Part-21 which is the Annex to Commission Regulation (EU) No 748/2012. You can find a list of the ETSO standards in the published list ETSO Index. The certification specifications for ETSO are published here.  


Was this helpful?

Vote up  210
Vote down  40

How to start using SEPIAC?

SEPIAC is a Shared Electronic Platform for Initial Airworthiness Certification to communicate during the ETSO project, after acceptance of a project by the ETSO admin team as a response to the submission of the project via the EASA Applicant portal. This presentation provides information for the first steps in SEPIAC for an ETSO applicant. More information on the use of SEPIAC is accessible in the SEPIAC portal, after the applicant has become a member of SEPIAC and has at least one admin account. How to become a member is described in aforementioned presentation.


Was this helpful?

Vote up  4
Vote down  0
Back to top