Air Operations - General

Commission Regulation (EU) No 965/2012 (the so-called ‘Air Ops Regulation’) contains provisions for the following types of air operations with aeroplanes and helicopters:

  1. commercial air transport (CAT) operations, 
  2. non-commercial operations with complex motor-powered aircraft (NCC), 
  3. non-commercial operations with other-than complex motor-powered aircraft (NCO), and
  4. specialised operations (e.g. aerial work), both commercial and non-commercial (SPO). 

The Air Ops Regulation is applicable to all the European Member States and to all operators of aeroplanes and helicopters which have their principal place of business, are established or reside in a European Member State.

Flexibility provisions

Flight time limitations and fatigue risk management

EASA helped by Member States competent authorities developed a checklist, to be used by NAA inspectors to ensure a standardised approach to assessing compliance with ORO.FTL.110 (Operator’s responsibilities), the approval of operator’s IFTSS and assessing operator’s continued compliance with Subpart FTL and compliance with fatigue risk management (FRM) (ORO.FTL.120).

For more information on the IFTSS proposal, please consult our website.

The ICAO FRM page contains the ICAO FM SARPs, relevant events, publications, useful links and documents related to fatigue risk management.

Check also the FAQ on FTL.