Brexit Negotiations

The UK’s withdrawal from the EU 

On 13 April 2018, the Commission published a “Notice to stakeholders” concerning the withdrawal of the United Kingdom and EU aviation safety rules on the webpage of the Directorate General for Mobility and Transport.

Impact on the EU aviation system

The European Union’s aviation safety legislation applies in 32 European countries – the current 28 EU Member States and the following four associated countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.  The countries to which this legislation applies will, for the purposes of simplification, hereafter be referred to as "EASA Member States". 

On 29th March 2017 the United Kingdom notified the European Council of its intention to withdraw from the European Union, thereby triggering a negotiating process to establish a withdrawal agreement within a two-year timeframe, subject to any transitional arrangement that may be contained in a possible withdrawal agreement.

EASA’s mandate and role as an agency of the EU with regulatory and executive tasks in the field of civil aviation safety is not altered within the EU-28 and 4 associated countries until the UK’s withdrawal. 

EASA’s tasks within the EU-27 and 4 associated countries will continue seamlessly beyond the UK’s withdrawal. The overall aims of EASA’s operations remain untouched by the UK withdrawal.  

As the withdrawal and transitional agreement negotiations are currently underway EASA cannot yet determine the ultimate impact of the withdrawal on EASA or its stakeholders within the EU-27 and 4 associated countries or within the UK. The withdrawal will significantly alter EASA’s cooperation with UK authorities and will not leave EASA’s stakeholders untouched. 

As the withdrawal process evolves more certainties will emerge. We will reflect them by updating these webpages as appropriate.

Cooperating with UK authorities 

Our mission to provide safe air travel for EU citizens in Europe and worldwide comprises numerous tasks that entail close cooperation with the national aviation authorities of the EASA Member States.

In fact, the Basic Regulation contains various provisions that oblige EU Member State authorities to be involved in the uniform implementation of European aviation safety legislation in the EASA Member States.

Until the UK withdraws from the EU, EASA will continue its cooperation with the UK authorities within the scope of its responsibilities as defined in the Basic Regulation, including certification, standardisation and rulemaking.

The UK has the right to participate fully in the activities of EASA, continue to participate in all formal meetings and retain its speaking and voting rights. 

After withdrawal the UK will cease to participate in the activities of EASA and consequently the UK Civil Aviation Authority will no longer need to ensure compliance by UK-based companies with the EU aviation safety legislation.

Inform yourself on the EU-UK withdrawal negotiations 

It is the European Commission that conducts the withdrawal negotiations with the UK Government under a negotiating authorisation provided by the European Council. As an EU agency EASA is not party to these negotiations.

A dedicated “Task Force on Article 50 Negotiations with the United Kingdom”, headed by Chief Negotiator Michel Barnier, conducts the negotiations on behalf of the 27 other EU Member States.

The EU-27 have committed to conduct the withdrawal negotiations with the UK in a transparent fashion. You can find more information and consult the negotiating documents by visiting the Task Force’s official webpages via the link below.

Similarly, the UK Government is publishing its position papers on a dedicated website.

In case of questions please contact us.

Back to top