Stay informed on COVID-19 updates from EASARead more


On 30 January 2020, the European Council ratified the Agreement on the Withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community.

Consequently, the United Kingdom left the European Union on 31 January 2020 at midnight (Brussels time) and the UK will no longer be a Member State of the European Union and of the European Atomic Energy Community as of 01 February 2020.

However, the EU and the United Kingdom agreed on a transition period as part of the Withdrawal Agreement. During this time, the UK will be treated as an EU member state, but will no longer take part in any decision making or decision shaping activities at EASA (‘principle of non-participation’).
It is currently foreseen that the transition period starting on 01 February 2020 ends on 31 December 2020. 

The EU and the United Kingdom will use these months to agree on a new and fair partnership for the future, based on the Political Declaration agreed between the EU and the United Kingdom in October 2019.  

Until the end of the transition period, EASA’s mandate and role as an agency of the EU with regulatory and executive tasks in the field of civil aviation safety is not altered and will continue within the EU-27, 4 associated countries and the UK. 

As the negotiations on a future partnership between the EU and the UK are currently underway, EASA cannot yet determine the ultimate impact of the UK withdrawal after the transition period on EASA or its stakeholders within the EU-27 and 4 associated countries or within the UK. 

Pursuant the above, during the transition period, EASA will continue to process applications from existing UK CAA approval holder within the context of the early application process.  

More information on Early Applications related to Brexit can be found on our dedicated webpage: