FAQ n.21897

My project is re-classified, what implications are there?


Fees & charges category re-classification

Your project may be reclassified to a higher or lower category, e.g. from Simple to Standard, based on certain criteria that are defined in Commission Regulation (EU) No 319/2014. As a re-classification to a higher category leads to a higher fee, we will contact you first for your acceptance before taking any further action.

In case of re-classifications to a lower category, a credit note will be issued, if applicable.

For further information on the different fees & charges categories, please consult the tables sorted by application type provided in the Annex of the fees and charges regulation Commission Regulation (EU) No 319/2014





EASA Supplemental Type Certificate (STC)


EASA major design changes


EASA major repairs

STC, major design change, or repair, only involving current and well-proven justification methods, for which a complete set of data (description, compliance check-list and compliance documents) can be communicated at time of application, 

and for which the applicant has demonstrated experience, 

and which can be assessed by the project certification manager alone, or with a limited involvement of a single discipline specialist.

All other STC, major design changes or repairs.

Significant (*) STC or major design change.

Validated US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) STC

Basic (**)


Significant non-basic

Validated FAA major design change

Level 2 (**) major design changes when not automatically accepted. (***)

Level 1 (**)

Significant level 1

Validated FAA major repair


(automatic acceptance)

Repairs on critical component (**)


(*) "Significant" is defined in paragraph 21.A.101 (b) of the Annex to Regulation (EU) No. 748/2012 (and similarly in FAA 14CFR 21.101 (b)) as amended.

(**) For the definitions of "basic", “non-basic”, "level 1", "level 2", "critical component" and “Certificating Authority”, see the applicable bilateral agreement under which the validation takes place.

(***) Automatic acceptance criteria by EASA for level 2 major changes are defined in the applicable bilateral agreement under which the validation takes place.

Part 21 re-classification

Your application may be reclassified to a different application type, e.g. from Minor Change to Major Change based on certain technical criteria that are defined in Part 21. In this case a new application must be made to EASA.


Last updated: 

Was this helpful?

Vote up  2
Vote down  7