FAQ n.19388

How does EASA deal with Russian general aviation (GA) aircraft types Su-26, Yak-54, Yak-55, Su-29, Su-31, and Yak-18T?


When it comes to the above mentioned Russian GA aircraft types, the situation can be described as follows:

1) Aircraft covered by transitional arrangements:

A limited number of the above mentioned Russian GA aircraft types  have been  covered by transitional arrangements (identified by serial number)  .

According to article 5 of Regulation 748/2012, for a certain number of Russian GA aircraft that were on a Member State´s register before the applicability of  the Basic Regulation, the Agency has developed Specific Airworthiness Specifications (SAS) on the basis of which the aircraft are eligible for the application for a Restricted Certificate of Airworthiness (RCofA) at the Member State´s NAA in accordance with art. 21.A.173(b). However, this only applies to the aircraft specifically listed (by serial number) in the SAS (SAS.A.093 for Su-29SAS.A.094 for Su-31 and SAS.A.095 for Yak-18T).
Additionally, for aircraft that, although in the register of one of the Member States at the date of applicability of the Basic Regulation, could not fulfil all the criteria of article 5 for the issue of an SAS, the Agency has issued flight conditions which have allowed these aircraft to continue to fly based on a national Permit to Fly. This was done based on the same grandfathering principles (to cover aircraft already registered in the Member States), based on information received from the Member States of registry, and limited to a restricted number of individual aircraft (identified by serial number). 

Only individual aircraft that were registered in one of the Member states before the date of applicability of the Basic regulation to that State were covered by the transitional arrangements described above.
The  dates of applicability of the Basic Regulation for the various EASA Member States are:

  • 27. September 2003: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxemburg, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, United Kingdom.
  • 1. May 2004: Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovak Republic, Slovenia.
  • 1. June 2005: Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein.
  • 1. December 2006: Switzerland.
  • 1. January 2007: Bulgaria, Romania.
  • 1. July 2013: Croatia.

2) Aircraft not covered by transitional arrangements:

For all other Russian GA aircraft of the  types listed above, the general procedure according to Part-21 applies. This means that applicants for the approval of flight conditions by the Agency need to demonstrate “that the aircraft is capable of safe flight under the specific conditions and restrictions” (art. 21.A.710c), hence need to provide the Agency with a comprehensive certification plan for each application/aircraft. The certification plan  should consider the relevant Certification Specification (CS) for the aircraft (e.g. CS-23) as well as for engine (e.g. CS-E) and propeller (e.g. CS-P). Also, the continued airworthiness of the aircraft needs to be ensured.

Last updated

Was this helpful?