FAQ n.19067

Concerning the approval of the continuing airworthiness organisations, what is the sharing of responsibilities between EASA and the national competent authorities of the EASA Member States? How to get the lists of the approved continuing airworthiness organisations?


In accordance with point 2(b) in Article 77 of the Basic Regulation (i.e. Regulation (EU) 2018/1139 on common rules in the field of civil aviation and establishing a European Union Aviation Safety Agency), EASA is responsible for the organisations whose principal place of business is outside the territories for which the EASA Member States are responsible under the Chicago Convention.
For more information, see the website Continuing-airworthiness-organisations, where the lists of organisations managed by the Agency are available.

This webpage also includes the lists of the Part-145 maintenance organisations managed on the basis of the Bilateral Aviation Safety Agreements (BASAs) with Brazil, Canada and USA.

In all other cases, and in the absence of the implementation of Articles 64 or 65 of the Basic Regulation, the organisation is managed by the national competent authority of the EASA Member State in whose territory the principal place of business of the organisation is located.
Therefore, information request (including on the application process) about those organisations should be directed to the EASA Member State national competent authorities.
You may contact them using information available on https://www.easa.europa.eu/the-agency/member-states, or consult their public websites, when they accepted, on a voluntary basis, to publish the lists of the organisations they manage.

The continuing airworthiness organisations concerned are the following:

  • Part-145 (Annex II) maintenance organisations
  • Part-147 (Annex IV) maintenance training organisations
  • Continuing airworthiness management organisations: Part-M Subpart G until 24 September 2021 and Part-CAMO (Annex Vc) from 24 March 2020
  • Part-M Subpart F maintenance organisations until 24 September 2021
  • From 24 March 2020, Part-CAO (Annex Vd) combined airworthiness organisations.
Last updated

Was this helpful?