FAQ n.44075

How is the fees and charges category determined for post-TC applications?


For all post-TC design applications the applicable F&C category is based on the type level and corresponds to that category in which more or equal to 50% of the models are within a given type.

This change was introduced by the EASA F&C regulation (Commission Regulation (EU) 319/2014) as of April 2014 and changed the previously applicable rule that the highest weight category was applicable, even though it might have been only connected to one of the models.

In accordance with PART V/Explanatory Note (4) of EASA F&C regulation, the MTOW of the initial TC and subsequently of the majority of the related models covered by this Type Certificate (i.e. more than 50 %) determines the applicable MTOW category.

Should the number of models in both the higher and the lower MTOW categories being equal, the higher MTOW category applies. Once the MTOW category has been determined at the product type level, it is to be consequently applicable for all related applications, e.g. for minor changes, STCs, etc.

Product categories where the fees and charges category is not based on the MTOW e.g. rotorcraft and engines, are nevertheless treated with the same logic as outlined above i.e. more or equal to 50% of the models within a type determine the final category for each model.
EASA has published the applicable fees and charges category for each model in the EASA product list.

Last updated: 

Was this helpful?

Vote up  3
Vote down  1