FAQ n.19114

What is the comitology procedure?


Reference: Regulation (EU) No 182/2011

Under the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU), the European Commission is responsible for the required implementation of Union legislation in many areas. When exercising these delegated powers, the Commission is often obliged to work with national civil servants appointed by Member States in different committees. These committees, which are a forum for discussions and the voicing of opinions, are chaired by the European Commission.

For the implementation of Regulation (EC) No 216/2008 (the Basic Regulation), the European Commission is assisted by the EASA Committee and by the Single European Sky Committee. Another committee of importance as regards aviation safety is the Air Safety Committee, which is best known for being the guardian of the so-called 'Safety list' as provided by Directive 2004/36/CE of the European Parliament and of the Council of 21 April 2004 on the safety of third-country aircraft using Community airport as amended by Regulation (EC) No 2111/2005 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 14 December 2005 on the establishment of a Community list of air carriers subject to an operating ban within the Community and on informing air transport passengers of the identity of the operating air carrier, and repealing Article 9 of Directive 2004/36/EC.

The procedures which govern the work of these committees follow the standard procedures approved by Regulation (EU) No 182/2011 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 16 February 2011 laying down the rules and general principles concerning mechanisms for control by Member States of the Commission's exercise of implementing powers. It replaces former Decision 1999/468/EC. This Regulation introduces a new amended 'comitology' procedure. The latest Comitology Regulation and other relevant information on the new comitology procedure can be consulted here.

Last updated: 

Was this helpful?

Vote up  3
Vote down  7