

## **Management Board Decision**

DECISION N° 06-2021

of 10 December 2021

## RENEWING THE TERM OF OFFICE FOR MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF APPEAL

THE MANAGEMENT BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN UNION AVIATION SAFETY AGENCY,

Having regard to Regulation (EU) 2018/1139 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 4 July 2018 on common rules in the field of civil aviation and establishing a European Union Aviation Safety Agency, and amending Regulations (EC) No 2111/2005, (EC) No 1008/2008, (EU) No 996/2010, (EU) No 376/2014 and Directives 2014/30/EU and 2014/53/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council, and repealing Regulations (EC) No 552/2004 and (EC) No 216/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council and Council Regulation (EEC) No 3922/91<sup>1</sup>, hereinafter referred to as "the Basic Regulation";

Having regard to Commission Regulation (EC) 104/2004 of 22 January 2004 laying down rules on the organisation and composition of the Board of Appeal of the European Aviation Safety Agency<sup>2</sup>, and in particular Articles 1 and 2 thereof,

Having regard to EASA Management Board Decision 17-2016 appointing the Board of Appeal of the European Union Aviation Safety Agency of 13 December 2016;

Having regard to the list of qualified candidates adopted by the European Commission,

WHEREAS:

- (1) According to Article 106(1) of the Basic Regulation, the Management Board shall appoint the members and their alternates of the Board of Appeal from a list of qualified candidates adopted by the Commission
- (2) According to Article 2(1) of Commission Regulation (EC) 104/2004, the Board of Appeal shall consist of two technically qualified members and one legally qualified member which shall be the Chairperson of the Board.
- (3) According to Article 106(2) of the Basic Regulation, the term of office of the members of the Board of Appeal, including their Chairperson and any alternates shall be five years; and that this term shall be extendable for a further five years.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> OJ L 16, 23.01.2004, p. 20.



<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L 212, 22.8.2018, p.1.



Has decided to renew the term of office of the following Chairperson and members of the Agency's Board of Appeal, together with the respective alternates for another five years:

## Members:

| Chair   | SANCHEZ RYDELSKI Michael |
|---------|--------------------------|
| Members | STAERKER Helmut          |
|         | VIEIRA RIJO Humberto     |

## Alternate members:

| Chair   | TUTINELLI Giacomo    |
|---------|----------------------|
| Members | MONSO Joelle         |
|         | WIRTHS Heinz Joachim |

Done in Cologne, 10 December 2021

<signed> **PIOTR SAMSON** Chair of the Management Board

