Stay informed on COVID-19 updates from EASARead more

NPA 2015-17

Airworthiness review process

The airworthiness review process, which first entered into force in September 2008, introduced significant changes to former national requirements, among others a new role for the national aviation authorities (NAAs), new privileges for the organisations holding a Part-M, Subpart G approval, specific requirements for personnel involved in this review, description of the process itself, and an airworthiness review certificate (ARC).

Article 24(3) of Regulation (EC) No 216/2008 requires the Agency to assess the implementation impact of regulations.

The feedback obtained by the Agency through activities such as standardisation visits to the Member States (MSs), Article 14 exemptions, and questions from NAAs/stakeholders related to the interpretation of the rules, among others, led the Agency to decide that the airworthiness review process needed to be reviewed.

As a consequence, the European Aviation Safety Agency launched a survey among NAAs and stakeholders whose results are included in Chapter 5.3 of this NPA. In order to address the issues raised during the survey, the Agency has issued this NPA that:

  • provides clearer requirements/guidance on those aspects creating interpretation/standardisation problems;
  • removes those requirements that do not bring any safety benefits;
  • facilitates the transfer of aircraft between MSs; and
  • reinforces the oversight role of the NAAs.

In line with the objective of providing proportionate and cost-efficient rules for General Aviation (GA) while maintaining an acceptable level of safety, the Agency coordinates the proposals included in this NPA with RMT.0463 ‘Task Force for the review of Part-M for General Aviation’ (PHASE I) and RMT.0547 ‘Task Force for the review of Part-M for General Aviation’ (PHASE II).