## European Aviation Safety Agency

## DECISION OF THE MANAGEMENT BOARD<sup>1</sup> RENEWING THE TERM OF OFFICE OF MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF APPEAL OF THE EUROPEAN AVIATION SAFETY AGENCY

The Management Board,

Having regard to the Regulation (EC) 216/2008<sup>2</sup> of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 February 2008 on common rules in the field of civil aviation and establishing a European Aviation Safety Agency, and repealing Council Directive 91/670/EEC, Regulation (EC) 1592/2002 and Directive 2004/36/EC, hereinafter "the Basic Regulation" and in particular to articles 33(2)(g), 41(3) and 42 thereof,

Having regard to Commission Regulation (EC) 104/2004 of 22 January 2004 laying down rules on the organisation and composition of the Board of Appeal of the European Aviation Safety Agency<sup>3</sup>, and in particular articles 1 and 2 thereof.

Having regard to EASA Management Board Decision 08-2005 appointing the Board of Appeal of the European Aviation Safety Agency of 14 June 2005,

Having regard to the list of qualified candidates adopted by the European Commission<sup>4</sup>.

## Whereas:

- (1) According to article 41(3) of the Basic Regulation, the Management Board shall appoint the Chairperson, the other members and their respective alternates of the Board of Appeal from a list of qualified candidates adopted by the Commission.
- (2) According to article 2(1) of Commission Regulation (EC) 104/2004, the Board of Appeal shall consist of two technically qualified members and one legally qualified member which shall be the Chairperson of the Board.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Adopted at MB 02/2010 of 01.06.2010.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Official Journal L 790, 19.03.2008, p.1

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> OJ L 16, 23.1.2004, p. 20.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Letter to the Chair of the Management Board from Vice-President Barrot dated 31 May 2005, reference FLM/ad D(2005) 4953

(3) According to article 42(1) of the Basic Regulation, the term of office of the members of the Board of Appeal, including their Chairperson and their respective alternates, shall be five years; and that this term shall be renewable.

Has decided to renew the term of office of the following Chairperson and members of the Agency's Board of Appeal, together with the respective alternates for another five years:

Members:

Chair DYRBERG Peter
Members AXELSSON Arne
KOPLIN Klaus

Alternate members:

Chair MARGELLOS Théophile Members DIDSZUHN Wolfgang

FRANTZEN Claude

Done at Cologne,

[Signed]

Michael Smethers Chair of the Management Board