## **European Aviation Safety Agency**

## DECISION OF THE MANAGEMENT BOARD APPOINTING THE CHAIRPERSON AND DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON OF THE MANAGEMENT BOARD

The Management Board,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No. 216/2008<sup>1</sup> of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 February 2008 on common rules in the field of civil aviation and establishing a European Aviation Safety Agency, and repealing Council Directive 91/670/EEC, Regulation (EC) No. 1592/2002 and Directive 2004/36/EC, in particular to Article 35 thereof;

Having regard to the MB Decision 06-2011 adopting the Rules of Procedure of the Management Board of the European Aviation Safety Agency, in particular to Articles 3 and 9 thereof;

## Whereas:

- (1) The Management Board has received the candidacy of Mr. Michael Smethers for the position of Chairperson, and that of Mr. Maxime Coffin for the position of Deputy Chairperson,
- (2) The Management Board has decided to nominate Mr. Heine Richardsen as Acting Chairperson of the Management Board for the appointment of the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Board,

## Has decided:

To appoint as the Chair of the EASA Management Board, Mr. Michael Smethers with immediate effect;

To appoint as the Deputy Chair of the EASA Management Board, Mr. Maxime Coffin with immediate effect.

Done at Cologne, 22 September 2011

[Signed]

Heine Richardsen Acting Chair of the Management Board

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L 79, 19.03.2008, p. I as last amended by Regulation (EC) No. 1108/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 21 October 2009, Official Journal L 309, 24.11.2009.